Who Wants a Smartphone Anyway?

I’ve always been a late bloomer, technologically speaking.  My first cell phone was when I was 17 years old.  It was a really cute, little blue and silver Samsung phone.  The screens were not yet in color and my ringtone was Fur Elise.  I loved that phone.  We have come a long way since 2002.  Phones are now capable of multitasking.  Think about it.  We can now talk on our phones at the same time that we send a text message, update our calendars, and send an email…practically all at the same time.

Unless you’re me.

I don’t have a smartphone.  I have a stupidphone.  I would call it an ignorantphone, but it has no hope for the future.  I have a Pantech Jest 2 slider phone.  I hated my “first generation” (I put that in quotes to emphasize how ridiculous it was for them to come out with a 2nd generation), so I’m not sure what inspired getting a 2nd generation.  I must admit, though, that it isn’t nearly as bad as the first.

So back to the smartphone.  I remember when the iPhone was first introduced back in 2007.  I wasn’t quite finished with college and I wasn’t sure what all the hype was about smartphones.  I actually don’t think very many people had smartphones yet…and if they did, they had a Blackberry.  (See this video if you want a little Blackberry humor).  I secretly wanted one, but they looked a little complicated (I had just gotten an iPod Nano…) and there was no way I could afford one.  I also didn’t want to “butt call” anyone.  (Do you remember that???)

Weeeeeellll…the iPhone 4S was born… The desire deepened exponentially when saw that it came in white.  It is seriously the most beautiful phone I’ve ever seen.  I need it.  They even have fun cases for it like this Gameboy Case or a Cassette Tape Case.  Oh how I want one.

Can I justify spending $30 a month on one, though??  How can I get an extra $30 a month to pay for that beautiful piece of technology??

I’d be happy to wait tables…mow lawns…do dishes…maybe even laundry (which I loathe & detest).  But, I don’t have to.  I’ve recommitted to working on my Pampered Chef business.  I simply have to be active each month (submit $150 in sales) to pay for the iPhone plan.  So, that’s what I am going to do.  I don’t plan to stop there, though.  I plan to maintain some level of consistency…

At this point in my life, I realize that I am unwilling to put in as much effort as it would take to push my business further and further…to be really making the big bucks.  My children and family are so important to me that I am simply unwilling to be gone more than one night a week from them.  As my boys get older and have more needs…like private school tuition, sports, music or whatever other hobbies they will enjoy, then I can do the work that it takes to push it up to the next level.

I am thankful to be able to make my business what I want it to be.  Whether that’s $30 a month for an iPhone…or more.

So, if you’re like me and you’ve been thinking, “Who wants a (submit desire here) anyway?”  (suggested examples: flexible schedule, vacation, new car, a house)  Then consider getting involved in direct sales.  Of course, my suggestion would be the Pampered Chef.  You really have nothing to lose.  The start-up costs are as little as $80–and chances are good that you’ll make that back, plus some, in your first show.  (I recommend trying 4 to see if you like it)  So…what do you have to lose??  Even if you end up hating it (and I doubt you will), you’ll have purchased a kit full of great products that you get to keep, have made money, and have earned more free products.  Doesn’t sound bad to me.

If you’re not like me and you don’t have any unfulfilled desires, you can always contribute to mine by booking a fun show.  Even if you live super far away–it’s OK.  You can book one online.  What’s in it for you??  Well, you get lots of free products of your choice.  Discounts for a year, free shipping, good food, a fun night with friends…You can’t go wrong.

Visit my Personal Website for more information. I’ll let you know when I get my iPhone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

