Almost There!

Time has rushed by me at the speed of light and I find it so hard to believe that we are just two months away from the birth of Levi Knightlee.  Each week in and of itself has felt like a nasty little slug, slowly making its way through life.  When I look back, however, it all seems like such a blur.  Every day is filled with a new adventure, new excitements, new fears and doubts and it forces me to look to God with thanksgiving as well as supplication! 

Emery is growing so fast, and I am constantly curious about how he will react to the new baby.  He is seeming to understand a little more what is going on, but he has no clue what he’s up against!  ๐Ÿ™‚  I wonder if he will be helpful or turn into a terror.  I just pray that he would love his brother and want to care for and protect him…and that I wouldn’t get so caught up in all the hustle bustle that I lose track of truly enjoying my boys.

Lately, Emery has been really funny.  He has become more active in decision making and it has been a lot of fun.  Of course, we let him believe he is making the decisions, but we really are.  For example, he will want something for breakfast and I will ask if he wants cereal.  When he says yes, I show him two different boxes and say “Do you want the blue box or the yellow box?”  He replies, “Oh.  Hmm…” and points to the box and says the corresponding color.  It’s a good way for us to get him to eat healthier cereals.

He has also become more vocal about the things he sees all around him.  He is adamant about making sure that I know that there is a red truck driving next to us, or that we are driving past mountains or water…or anything else for that matter.   If there are fish on the TV, he yells, “Mommy!  Mommy!  Mommy! Fish!”  He repeats this until I acknowledge him and say, “Yes, Emery.  There are fish.”  It doesn’t stop after the first time, though.  He says it again and again until they disappear.  It is very funny, sometimes exhausting, and always cute.

As I watch Emery grow into more of a toddler, it causes me to wonder what Levi will be like.  Will he be anything like Emery?  Will the be completely opposite?  What will he look like?  Will he be happy?  I know that these things are not for me to know yet, but I am so very curious.  I know that, whatever he looks like and however he acts, I’m going to love him.  I just pray that he’s an “easy to love” person! ๐Ÿ™‚ 

We are so very blessed to have everything that we have.  We have a beautiful little boy, a roof over our heads, another boy on the way, family and friends that we love and love us back, each other, and a God who continues to pour out His blessings on us.  We don’t have all the “financial blessings” in the world: a nice new car, nice house, lots of clothes, lots of food, vacations…etc…but we have everything that we NEED.   For that I am thankful.  I look forward to bringing Levi into this family and being blessed even more by him.   I look forward to Emery and Levi growing close to one another and sharing childhood together.  I look forward to growing as a mother and watching Josh grow even more as a father. 

Just two more months away…Wow.  Two more months!

Leave a Reply

