"Oreo Stuffed Chocolate-Chip Cookies"

On Valentine’s Day my husband, Josh, came home raving about some cookies that his co-worker made.  He said he was going to bring one home for me to try, but they were all gone.  He told me that it was an Oreo inside of a chocolate chip cookie…so I decided I’d do a little search.  I got this recipe from another blogger at “Picky Palate.”  I’ve tried it a couple times…and it’s pretty darn good!  So, here’s the recipe, my findings, photos, and comments! 🙂  The full ingredients list and recipe is at the bottom of the page.

Before you get started you’ll need to preheat your oven to 350.  Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.  I’m not completely sure why because they’re not sticky, but it did make the cleanup even easier…and then you don’t have to grease your baking sheet.  I use the Large Bar Pan by the Pampered Chef.  I rarely use anything other than stoneware.  It allows for more even cooking, prevents burning on the bottom of your cookies, and is easy to clean up.

 Mix your flour, salt, and baking soda together in a small bowl and set aside.  I used the Small Batter Bowl by the Pampered Chef.  It holds 4 cups plus a little wiggle room.  I also like that it has a handle.  That way I can mix and pour without losing my grip!

 Cream together your butter and two sugars.  Use an electric mixer.  I put all of mine in the Large Batter Bowl (also by the Pampered Chef).  Again, I really like that it has a handle so I can use my mixer and hold my bowl steady.

After giving it a good mix I like to scrape down the sides and mix it up a little more.  Using any rubber scraper is great, but I really like my Mix ‘n Scraper.  It is super durable and doesn’t soak in the colors and scents of what I’m making.  It also works well as a scoop so I can actually move stuff around in there.

Add in your two eggs and a full tablespoon of vanilla extract and mix it all up again.  Make sure it’s mixed really really well.  It might look a little gritty or funny after you’ve mixed it.


Slowly add in the dry ingredients that you mixed together earlier.  I like to add them in thirds and them mix it up.

The batter will be really stiff and thick…thicker than the usual cookie recipe, I found.  (My favorite is the Nestle Tollhouse Recipe, by the way…so good)  I think it’s important to stick to this particular recipe so you get the right consistency for some of the next steps.  I also found that it took me some time to get this all mixed well.  I had to scrape down the sides a lot to make sure the flour mixture was well incorporated.  This may be easier if you have one of those really nice big kitchen mixers.

Add in your whole bag of chocolate chips.  I had to use one of my Bamboo Spoons to mix them in.  Like I said, the batter is pretty stiff.  I like the Bamboo Spoons better than the average wooden spoon because they don’t splinter or soak in any scents or colors.  This is great news for people with Celiac Disease or other gluten intolerance.  The Bamboo won’t soak those in so you won’t need multiples to avoid cross-contamination.

Take out those Oreos (or off-brand like I did…) and have your cookie sheet ready. 


 Take a cookie-scoop full of cookie dough and place it on the top of one Oreo.  I used the Medium Scoop (Pampered Chef).  It works great and is the perfect size for these, or any other cookie.  This is what it will look like.


Take another scoop and put it on the bottom of the cookie… like a sandwich.  This is what it will look like:


Surround the cookie with the dough.  I found that this was easiest if I cupped it in my hands and gently pushed down on the top and on the sides…Like rolling it without actually rolling it…if that makes any sense :).  I’ve found that this is why this particular cookie recipe is important.  It is less sticky than others.  This is also one of the reasons it is important to use butter and NOT substitute margarine.

Place the finished cookie on the lined cookie sheet.  The cookie will be pretty big…it’s like 3 cookies in 1…literally.  So you can see the comparison of this one cookie to a single Oreo.

Repeat that step until your cookie sheet is filled.  I was able to fit 12 on one sheet.

Place the cookies in the preheated oven for 9-13 minutes.  It took mine the full 13 minutes…and wouldn’t have burned with even two more minutes.   I like setting a timer so I can clean or prepare my other cookie sheet without having to watch the clock.

This is about what they’ll look like when they’re finished.  They don’t look done, but they are.  You’ll have to give them a good touch to make sure they’re not gooey still.  I also know that my stones stay hot for quite a while, so the bottoms will still bake a little when they first leave the oven.

Place the sheet on a cooling rack for at least 5 minutes.  I find that it’s better if you let it cool on your sheet for longer than that so they don’t goo apart.  I found 10-15 minutes to be sufficient, but it wouldn’t hurt to leave them on there even longer.  Just test it before you remove them.

 Remove the cookies from the cookie sheet directly onto the cooling rack to finish cooling completely.  I like placing mine on the Stackable Cooling Racks (Pampered Chef).  They’re raised pretty high off the counter/table and allow for the cookies to cool all the way around.  Traditional cooling racks sit really low to the counter and air can’t really circulate well underneath.  So it takes longer for them to cool.  You can also stack 3 on top of one another if you have limited flat-surfaces like I do.  It makes it a lot easier to bake lots of cookies at a time.

Allow the cookies to cool completely (or mostly if you just can’t wait).  Enjoy them with a tall glass of milk!

YUM!  I like to call it the “pregnant cookie” because there’s a nice little surprise inside… 🙂

If you have a 2-year old, this is the mess you’ll have to clean up after cleaning the kitchen! 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 2 Sticks of Butter Softened (This is important.  Margarine will totally mess you up in a lot of ways–please use butter.  I let mine soften over night on the counter.)
  • 3/4 Cup Packed Brown Sugar
  • 1 Cup Granulated Sugar
  • 2 Large Eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon Vanilla Extract or Pure Vanilla
  • 3 1/2 Cups Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1 10 oz bag of Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • 1 Package of Double Stuff Oreo Cookies (I used the off brand because it was less expensive 🙂 ).

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F.  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Mix all the dry ingredients in a small bowl and set aside (flour, salt, baking soda).
  3. Mix butter and both sugars in a bowl and blend with an electric mixer.  Add eggs and vanilla–mix well.  Slowly add in the dry ingredients and mix well.  Toss in all the chocolate chips and mix well again.
  4. Take one cookie scoop-full of cookie dough and place it on top of one Oreo.  Take another scoop of cookie dough and place on the bottom of the Oreo (see picture), and surround the Oreo with the two scoops of dough.
  5. Place the (very large) cookie on your cookie sheet.  Repeat until your sheet is full!
  6. Bake at 350 for 9-13 minutes.  I found it took the whole 13 minutes.
  7. Cool on a cookie rack for at least 5 minutes…but the longer the better.  If you can wait a good 15 minutes that would be easier!

The recipe says it makes 2 dozen cookies, but I found that it really makes about 18 cookies.  There are enough Oreos in a package, though, to make 2 batches if necessary.  Just imagine the possibilities!  Make it your own!  Maybe use those amazing Thin Mint cookies that the Girl Scouts put out…or some peanut butter…or any other cookie/treat you like…Maybe a little Reese’s cup!  Share any adjustments you make with me!

(adapted from the recipe found at this site: http://picky-palate.com/2011/01/06/oreo-stuffed-chocolate-chip-cookies/)

2 thoughts on “"Oreo Stuffed Chocolate-Chip Cookies"

Leave a Reply

