To Feed or Not to Feed

When I was pregnant with Emery, and even when he first started eating food, I promised myself that I wouldn’t turn into his private chef.  That was easy to say when he was nursing and happy to eat whatever I was eating!  He was also really good at trying all kinds of fresh baby foods that I would make from peas to apricots!  He seemed to love it all! 

At about 1 year Emery became a little bit more picky and has become more so as he has approached his current age.  His diet mainly has consisted of oatmeal, cold cereal, juice, pizza, grilled cheese, peanut butter sandwiches, most fruits, and any sweets, of course.  Every once and a while he’d eat a hamburger, chicken, or meatloaf…and veggies have been out of the question.  After watching a video of Josh, though, as a two-year-old eating meat loaf and mashed potatoes I decided that we were going to try this again.  He won’t let himself starve, right?  Besides, we give him a daily multivitamin so he should be fine as far as nutrients go.

So, today was my first day of not being a private dinner chef for Emery.  I knew that I would have to figure something out to get him to eat what I was making: Spaghetti and Meatballs.  He’s eaten a little spaghetti in the past, but it’s always been hit or miss.  This time I had him sit in his chair while I was making dinner.  I pulled him up near where I was cooking and let him watch me go through all the steps of making and rolling each meatball.  The whole time I said things like, “Yummy!  Meatballs!” or “mmm…good!”  Emery was so interested in what I was doing and asked, “Mommy!  Some?”  I said, “They’re not cooked yet, honey, but pretty soon!”  We set the table and, since he LOVES being a big boy, we gave him a plate and fork just like mommy and daddy’s. As we plated his food we said, “Wow.  Emery is such a big boy!  He’s eating big boy food on a big boy plate!  Wow!”  We really made a big deal out of it.  It sure was a success today!  He ate the spaghetti and meatballs (even the noodles) and had a couple helpings of it.  He also had 1/2 a piece of garlic toast.  What’s better?  He had fun doing it and I wasn’t so crazy in the kitchen making whatever he wanted! 

Let’s just hope that this continues!  We’ll see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

